Final seats declared in NQ

State election results confirmed for North Queensland

Burdekin MP Dale Last retains his seat.

Burdekin MP Dale Last retains his seat.


Twelve days after the State election, the final seats have been declared.


The final North Queensland seats have been decided today, with LNP incumbent Dale Last taking the seat of Burdekin and Labor’s Scott Stewart retaining Townsville.

Mr Last said he would be straight back to work in the district after he received a phone call from the Burdekin returning officer this morning to say that he had won the seat.

“It is certainly a big relief and very humbling to be re-elected as Member for Burdekin, it’s not something that I take for granted and I appreciate all of the support and assistance I’ve had,” Mr Last said.

He said his electorate had almost doubled in size due to redistribution and his first priority would be to meet new constituents in the coalfield areas south of Collinsville. 

“The Burdekin electorate is the most diverse electorate in Queensland, and certainly an economic powerhouse when you add in the sugar industry, the horticultural industry around Bowen, down through the coal fields, Moranbah, Dysart, Middlemount and of course into the cropping and livestock production around Clermont,” Mr Last said.

“So it’s a very diverse electorate but one that I’m so proud to represent.”

Mr Last said he had made an application to the clerk at parliament this morning to get a second electorate based in the Moranbah region to better service those residents.

Meanwhile, Mr Stewart was declared the winner of the seat of Townsville ahead of LNP candidate Casie Scott this afternoon.

“I want to express my heartfelt thanks to the people of this city for re-electing me to the seat of Townsville. I am honoured and humbled that you have placed your trust in me,” Mr Stewart said.

“I would like to acknowledge the candidates that ran for the seat of Townsville - as well as my family and volunteers who have stood by me and supported me the entire way.

“I will continue to work hard for Townsville.”


From the front page

Sponsored by